LibGuides: History: Library Resources

Library databases for history

History Reference Source- from EBSCO
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, this research database contains full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
World History Collection - from Gale
Scholarly journals and magazines with balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
JSTOR Essential
Access more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
War and Terrorism Collection - from Gale
Journals and magazines for risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Military & Government Collection - from EBSCO
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Films on Demand
Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries from A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, HBO Documentary Films, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Credo Reference
Over 650 titles such as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks across all subject areas.

SKCTC Library Catalog
Find books and ebooks about studying history in the SKCTC library.

A Little Book for New Historians by Robert Tracy McKenzie
ISBN: 9780830853465
Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Lays out necessary skills, methods, and attitudes for historians in training.
Vital Witnesses by Mark Newman
ISBN: 9781475810530
Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Comprehensive guide to primary sources and their use.
History and Approaches in Heritage Studies by Phyllis Mauch Messenger (Editor); Susan J. Bender (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813056180
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
An important collection at the intersection of theory, practice, and teaching history.