History

This essential book illustrates the important events and figures surrounding the suffrage movement; literature, art, and music; business leaders and breakthroughs; political history and office holders; advances in science and medicine; and other vital topics.

Resource guide to help people identify and understand challenging conversations about race and discrimination.

Details U.S. foreign affairs from the American Revolution up through the modern day. This comprehensive A-to-Z reference guide covers important people, groups and organizations, events, and legislation.

Articles herein address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government -- from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--but also a wide range of contemporary issues such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.

This intriguing reference provides detailed entries that define the major conspiracies, both proven and unproven, throughout history. From the "inheritance powder" of the Medicis to the U.N. oil-for-food scandal, this encyclopedia investigates the broad history of conspiracies and their impact on global affairs and everyday life.

Offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.

A comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration.

The most up-to-date reference of its kind, the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day.

Covers a wide spectrum of American history and culture, including political events, military history, sports, arts, entertainment, landmark legislation, and business. The book's concise entries, arranged from A to Z, bring the United States' past into sharp focus while also offering just plain useful facts about the well known and not so well known.

Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.

Looks at the major themes that have developed in the interdisciplinary field of Southern Studies. The chapters present focused historiographical analyses that, taken together, offer a clear sense of the evolution and contours of Southern Studies.

Provides the first comprehensive overview of historical research in American sport from the early Colonial period to the present day.

Draws on contributions from an international panel of experts. Their writings explore the growth the field has experienced in the past three decades and offer observations on challenges and opportunities for the future.

Provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

Provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

Offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties.

Examines the in-depth history of the first Continental Congress in 1774 and the first Federal Congress in 1789. Coverage dives into the impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American Society and government.

This authoritative work showcases the cabinets of all 45 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Donald J. Trump.

Contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of abortion.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of due process.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of religion.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issues of freedom of speech, assembly, and expression.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of the press.

Looks at how American presidents have used the power of the presidency not only to shape America's domestic and foreign policy, but also for personal gain.

Provides readers with an in-depth exploration of not only the topic of voter suppression, but how public opinion influenced action on voters' rights, from the founding of the country, when most states limited the right to vote to property-owning males, to the establishment in 2017 of the Presidential Advisory Commission of Election Integrity, and beyond, to how voter suppression efforts affected the 2018 elections.

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. An important look at how our political system developed and changed and the forces that compelled these changes.

An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents---and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

Covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing.

In the most comprehensive atlas of Native American history and culture available, the story of the North American Indian is told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes in these areas: beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more.

Contains case studies, by leading experts, of hunting and gathering peoples, in major world regions, plus thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. Surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers’ encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.

The story of American Indians in the 20th century is an inspiring tale of survival and rebirth from the depths of defeat. At the dawn of the 20th century, the Indian was seen by non-Indians as the "Vanishing Red Man," a symbol of nostalgia, a figure of the past with no future. Yet not only have American Indians adapted and survived, but they have brought their talents and unique cultural perspectives to many fields.

From ancient rock drawings to today's urban living, this text traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. A fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more.

Provides a comprehensive study of the literature on the causes, course, and consequences of the Korean War, 1950-1953. Aimed primarily at readers with a special interest in military history and contemporary conflict studies, the authors summarize and analyze the key research issues in what for years was known as the 'Forgotten War.'

From the cunning, calculating, government-trained warriors to the psychopathic, homegrown freelancers, you can find them all in this text.

Included in this biographical encyclopedia are Union and Confederate naval officers down to the rank of mate; enlisted sailors who won the Medal of Honor, or otherwise distinguished themselves or who wrote accounts of life on the gunboats; army officers and leaders who played a direct role in combat along Western waters; political officials who influenced river operations; civilian steamboat captains and pilots who participated in wartime logistics; and civilian contractors directly involved, including shipbuilders, dam builders, naval constructors and munitions experts.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

"Remember the Alamo!” is a phrase that is woven into the American consciousness, but what do most people really remember about the Alamo? Much of the true story has been shrouded in myth for over 150 years. This comprehensive encyclopedia provides thorough coverage for people, places, events and issues spanning the pre-Revolution period and settlement of Texas by Americans to the forming of the Republic in 1836.

From ferocious tribes to charismatic leaders and daring militias, this new edition explores the origins and leadership of these powerful combat forces, chronicles their conquests and accomplishments, examines the circumstances surrounding their decline or disbanding, and assesses their influence on the groups and methods of warfare that followed.

Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' military and diplomatic legacies.

Covers wars from the Korean War (1950-1953) to ongoing wars in Syria, the Ukraine, and Libya, among others.

Covers a period dominated by two wars that for the first time in history encompassed nearly every nation in the world, as well as numerous regional and local conflicts that nevertheless caused the death of millions of people.

Examination of the interdisciplinary, intersecting fields of gender studies and the history of the United States military.