History

Drawing on research from around the world, this atlas gives shape and meaning to statistics, making it an indispensable resource for understanding global inequalities and an inspiration for social and political action. Inequality underlies many of the challenges facing the world today, and this text considers the issue in all its dimensions.

In this fifth edition, Thomas Sowell revises and updates his popular book on common sense economics, bringing the world into clearer focus through a basic understanding of the fundamental economic principles and how they explain our lives. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration.

A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.

Provides a concise and rigorous approach to the understanding of international trade and finance without relying on mathematical models or graphs.

Provides basic consumer health information about the immune system, facts about the spread of disease, information on emerging infectious diseases, international travel guidance, diagnostic tests, treatment methods, and prevention and vaccination programs, along with reports on current research initiatives and additional resources.

Provides information about outbreaks, epidemics, and pandemics and their related threats.

12th edition of biennial publication. Aims to inform policy makers and analysts on recent and future changes in global science, technology and innovation (STI) patterns and their potential implications on and for national and international STI policies. Based on the most recent data available, offers comparative analysis of new policies and instruments being used in OECD countries and a number of major emerging economies (including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, the Russian Federation and South Africa) to boost the contribution of science and innovation to growth and to global and social challenges.

Each chapter discusses both primary and secondary documents such as newspaper and magazine articles, speeches, court decisions, and other legislation. Accompanied by expert commentary and analysis, this volume will guide the reader through the process of how each document affected the changing attitudes on this important issue of public interest.

Examines the international relations and political dynamics of countries, peoples, and organizations and allows politics to be viewed from a wider foundation and interconnected relationships.

Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.

Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

Addresses the growing demand for quantitative evidence on social well-being and its trends. It updates some indicators included in the previous editions published since 2001 and introduces several new ones, with 25 indicators in total. It includes data for the 35 OECD member countries and where available data for key partners (Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia and South Africa); other G20 countries (Argentina and Saudi Arabia) are also included.

Work is constantly reshaped by technological progress. New ways of production are adopted, markets expand, and societies evolve. But some changes provoke more attention than others, in part due to the vast uncertainty involved in making predictions about the future. The 2019 World Development Report looks at how the nature of work is changing as a result of advances in technology today.

Reviews the important interrelations between the industry, local communities and conservation work, bringing together the various opportunities and challenges for different destinations.

Covers national wealth for 141 countries over 20 years (1995-2014) as the sum of produced capital, 19 types of natural capital, net foreign assets, and human capital overall as well as by gender and type of employment.

Contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.

Looks at an issue that has gotten much attention in the developed world, now with, for the first time, new data and analysis covering most of the world, including developing economies. The analysis examines whether those born in poverty or in prosperity are destined to remain in the same economic circumstances into which they were born, and looks back over a half a century at whether children's lives are better or worse than their parents' in different parts of the world. Suggests local, national, and global actions and policies that can help break the cycle of poverty, paving the way for the next generation to realize their potential and improve their lives.

In this book, the authors propose a new conceptual business model as a contribution to global sustainable capitalism in the making, in an attempt assist in the education of global stakeholders about the importance, the rationale, and the pathway to the introduction of sustainable capitalism principles into global economics and business models.

Charts the promises and pitfalls for people's well-being in 35 OECD countries and 6 partner countries. It presents the latest evidence from 50 indicators, covering both current well-being outcomes and resources for future well-being, and including changes since 2005. During this period there have been signs of progress, but gains in some aspects of life have been offset by losses elsewhere.

Encompasses concepts and theories from multiple disciplines notably sociology, anthropology, international relations, and economics to examine the major sociocultural transformations of the modern world, their underlying causes, and their consequences.

The best-selling, annual title from the OECD. It provides a global overview of today's major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.

Presents an overview of the shifting of economic activity to developing countries and examines whether this shift has led to an increase in international migration towards developing countries. The report focuses on the latest data on migration between 1995 and 2015, and uses a new three-way categorisation of countries.