English, Writing, and Research: Information Literacy

Presents some 20,000 terms that appear in text messages, chatrooms, websites, sports statistics, travel brochures, airports, personal ads, and countless other places in a world where shorthand is the true universal language.

Explores the meanings of idioms, including phrasal verbs such as "kick back", proverbs such as "too many cooks spoil the broth", interjections such as "tough beans", and figures of speech such as "elephant in the room".

This 6th edition offers newly updated terms, and provides the latest research on word origins and meanings, with guidelines on accurate usage.

This authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style offers guidance on almost any writing problem imaginable. Arranged in a single, easy-to-use A-Z list, the guide's entries include examples and quotations that show not only correct and incorrect usage but also the relative effectiveness of different expressions in context.

Provides a wide range of synonyms organized in alphabetical order. Clear definitions that orient the user to the relevant meaning of related words set this thesaurus apart from the competition.

From the publishers of the perennially best-selling Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable comes a phrase and fable dictionary for the 21st century. With its unique blend of word and phrase etymology, cultural allusion and general knowledge, and its predilection for the esoteric and the unexpected, this text offers a richly diverse and entertaining exploration of the linguistic and cultural landscape of the modern world.

With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today. It deals with drugs, sport and contemporary society, as well as favourite slang topics such as sex and bodily functions.

An eponym is the name of a person after whom something is named, for example Lord Sandwich gave his name to the sandwich. This book tells the stories of nearly one thousand men and women whose names have become part of the English language.

Containing detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over, this encyclopedia is the first of its kind. Each item is described in as much detail as the original source material provided, including information on its origin, who was its wielder, and the extent of its magical abilities.

7th edition, updates the bestselling guide and offers information and advice on spelling, grammar, punctuation, pronunciation, confusables and the latest buzzwords, and provides clear, straightforward answers to everyday language problems.

Offers fundamental principles, grammar rules, punctuation advice, insights on writing, and writing examples for everyone and every occasion. From a brief history of the English language to the deconstruction and explanation of the different parts of a sentence, and from showing how to punctuate correctly to how to organize a well-argued essay, this easy-to-use reference answers nearly 500 questions and offers fun facts on the English language and its usage.

Understand and Enjoy Meanings, Symbolism, and Signs in Great Works; an engaging, easy-to-read look at literature basics such as themes, symbols, context, and other literary devices.

Features a significant number of clear and precise definitions and more than 10,000 new words and meanings. Over 40,000 usage examples, more than any other desk dictionary, provide expert guidance to help solve problems of confused and disputed usage.

Considers the basics of English verbs and tenses, including a summary of the different tenses; auxiliaries; questions and negatives; passive; conditionals; phrasal verbs; infinitive; participles; reported speech; subjunctive; common verbs and their phrasal verbs; irregular verbs.

The origins of thousands of words in the English language explored and explained.