Economics

Elizabeth Faue reconsiders the varied strains of the labor movement, situating them within the context of rapidly transforming twentieth-century American society to show how these efforts have formed a political and social movement that has shaped the trajectory of American life. An indispensable reading for scholars and students interested in American labor in the twentieth century and in the interplay between labor, wealth, and power.

A complete reference on CSR, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs (the ICCA). The entries have been written by leading experts, leading global thinkers and CSR practitioners.

Contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.

A collection of historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme. This approach provides a detailed perspective as well broad historical and social coverage of the topic.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

Presents vast era overviews, event and movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles, and more.

Presents a deep understanding on key, current topics and a primer on the landscape of contemporary research on the U.S. consumer.

Covers the history of economic thought, including the less-commonly discussed schools of binary and socio-economics. Readers will benefit by coming away from the book with a better understanding of the context within which economic arguments are made.

Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work.

Records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.

From Karl Marx to Naomi Klein, from The Wealth of Nations to Piketty's Capital, here are the 50 most important titles on finance and world economy distilled.

In this fifth edition, Thomas Sowell revises and updates his popular book on common sense economics, bringing the world into clearer focus through a basic understanding of the fundamental economic principles and how they explain our lives. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English.

From Aristotle and Thomas Aquinas, to Adam Smith and John Maynard Keynes, to the top economic thought leaders of today, this is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work.

Covers all the main areas of business theory and practice: marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business. Comprehensive coverage of everyday business terms such as cash flow and patent, and such increasingly quoted terms as hedge funds.

Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.

Provides a concise and rigorous approach to the understanding of international trade and finance without relying on mathematical models or graphs.

Useful for those pursuing business courses and for those who need to get to grips with the jargon of the business and management world. It covers all aspects of business from accounting through marketing and organizational behaviour to human resource management.

Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

3rd edition, providing the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. Perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields is essential.