Astronomy

Includes encyclopedia entries authenticated by a team of respected academics, colour illustrations, photographs, artworks, and tables, and Star Maps created by Wil Tirion.

This unique volume by two renowned astrophotographers unveils the science and history behind 100 of the most significant astronomical images of all time. Carefully selected images from across time and technology bring the reader the most relevant photographic images spanning all eras of modern astronomical history.

Reflects recent advances in astronomy and related fields.

Offering complete advice from the ground up, Stargazing is the perfect manual for beginners to astronomy -- introducing the world of telescopes, planets, stars, dark skies and celestial maps.

Covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research.

Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact.

Takes you on a journey through the history, science and the latest findings in astronomy. This book tells the story of astronomy, of the cosmos and its contents, and of humanity's efforts throughout history to unlock its secrets and solve its mysteries. You'll learn the answers to more than 1,000 questions on astronomy and space.

The book is intended for a general readership at a time when human and robotic exploration of space is often in the news and should also appeal to students at all levels. It covers the essentials but refers to a large literature which can be accessed via the internet.

Traces the history from the earliest observations right up to the most recent explorations using radar and spacecraft.

Offers a complete, up-to-date presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy. The encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration. Broad coverage includes terms such as astrophysics, planetary engineering, and cosmology, as well as both American and international astronomy and space technology.

Tells the lives of twenty-five female scientists, with specific attention to astronomers and mathematicians. The book will be of interest to all who wish to learn more about the women from antiquity to the nineteenth century who played such key roles in the history of astronomy and science despite living and working in largely male-dominated worlds.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the universe through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.